by Ian Cylkowski on Unsplash

Who We Are

World Heritage UK is the only organisation exclusively focused on World Heritage in the UK, and the only one that is led by the Sites themselves, reflecting a community-driven approach that has proven effective at many Sites and which is favoured by UNESCO.

Who We Are

The World Heritage UK (WHUK) is the only organisation exclusively focused on World Heritage in the UK, and the only one led by the World Heritage Sites (WHS) themselves. Founded in 2015 as a development of the Local Authority World Heritage Forum, we have achieved a great deal since then, thanks in large part to the considerable efforts of our volunteers. This approach reflects a community-driven approach that has proven effective at many WHS and which is favoured by UNESCO.

World Heritage UK is a membership organisation, formally known as a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO). It has voting members who set the strategy for the organisation, and associate and individual members who don’t have a vote, but still play an important part in our community.

We are an independent organisation representing the 33 UK World Heritage Sites, the majority of which are represented in our membership.

We provide invaluable support for those engaged in the strategic and day to day management of UK World Heritage Sites.

We provide high-quality learning and professional development for people working for and with UK World Heritage Sites.

Meet the Team

Paul Simons


Paul Simons has been Chair of World Heritage UK since July 2023. Since 2003 Paul has worked as a consultant specialising in historic spas, World Heritage and sustainable tourism projects. He is a member of ICOMOS UK. He was a founding member of the European Spas Association (ESPA) and the European Historic Thermal Towns Association where he was President of its Scientific Committee. From 2013 to 2023, he was Secretary General of the ‘Great Spa Towns of Europe UNESCO project’. The Great Spa Towns of Europe were inscribed on the World Heritage List in July 2021.

Chris Blandford OBE


Chris Blandford was elected as the first president of World Heritage UK in 2017 . Since then he has worked tirelessly in the cause of the World Heritage Collection and was the author of the seminal report UK World Heritage - Asset for the Future published in 2019. Previously, Chris was the founder and managing director of CBA Studios the international planning, heritage and landscape consultancy.


Our Trustees meet at least 4 times a year. They are voted in by our members and all have experience of working in or for UK World Heritage sites.

For more information about the Trustees and how to get in touch with them, please contact the Secretary, Lesley Garlick

Our Trustees:

  • Max Bryant
  • Lesley Garlick, Secretary
  • Tony Crouch, Vice Chair
  • Ashleigh Taylor
  • Brandi Hall-Crossgrove
  • Dr Amanda Chadburn
  • Steve Ratcliffe
  • Barry Gamble
  • Henry Owen-John
  • Prof Teresa Anderson
  • Justin Scully
  • Paul Simons, Chair

Staff Members

Alex McCoskrie

General Manager
07585 971 749

Alex works three days a week (Mon to Wed) for World Heritage UK and is responsible for the oversight of World Heritage UK including communications, our events programme, Voting or Associate membership, and any other general queries regarding the work of World Heritage UK

Natashia Mattocks

Business Manager

Contact Natashia regarding any financial matters related to World Heritage UK and individual membership queries

Voting Members

Torfaen Borough Council


Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace

West Oxfordshire Borough Council

Blenheim Palace

Canterbury City Council

Canterbury Cathedral

Bath and North East Somerset Council

City of Bath

Derbyshire County Council

Derwent Valley Mills

Jurassic Coast Trust

Jurassic Coast

Durham World Heritage Site

Durham Castle and Cathedral

National Trust Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Garden

Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal

Hadrian's Wall Partnership

Frontiers of the Roman Empire, Hadrian’s Wall

National Trust The Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway

The Gibraltar Museum

Gorham's Cave Complex, Gibraltar

Gwynedd County Council

Gwynedd Castles and Town Walls of King Edward

Gwynedd County Council

The Slate Landscape of Northwest Wales

Orkney Island Council

Heart of Neolithic Orkney

Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust

Ironbridge Gorge

Telford & Wrekin Borough Council

Ironbridge Gorge

University of Manchester

Jodrell Bank

The Greenwich Foundation for the Old Royal Naval College

Maritime Greenwich

Cornwall Council

Cornish Mining

Devon County Council

Cornish Mining

Devon County Council

Jurassic Coast

New Lanark Trust

New Lanark

South Lanarkshire Council

New Lanark

Edinburgh City Council


Westminster City Council

Palace of Westminster and Related Sites

Canal and River Trust

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct

Wrexham Borough Council

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct

Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

Kew Gardens

City of Bradford


Snowdonia National Park

The Slate Landscape of Northwest Wales

St George's Foundation, Bermuda

St George, Bermuda

National Trust for Scotland

St Kilda

Wiltshire Council

Stonehenge & Avebury

Lake District Park Authority

English Lake District

Lake District National Trust

English Lake District

Historic Royal Palaces, Tower of London

Tower of London

Peatlands Partnership

Flow Country

Great Spa Towns of Europe

Great Spa Towns of Europe (City of Bath)

Shetland Amenity Trust

The Zenith of Iron Age Shetland